Church Of South India
Karnataka Southern Diocese


The Church of South India is the result of the union of churches of varying traditions--Anglican, Methodist, Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed--in the region. It was inaugurated in September 1947. It is actively involved in various missionary and charitable activities aimed at making it a reckonable force of social change. Karnataka Southern Diocese is one among the 21 dioceses of the Church of South India and it came into existence on the 1st May, 1970, on trifurcation of the then Mysore diocese.

It consists of the ecclesiastical jurisdiction of Udupi, D.K., Kodagu, Mysore, Chamrajnagar, Mandya, Hassan and Chikmaglur Districts in Karnataka State; Kasaragod Dist in Kerala State; and Talavady Firkha of Periyar dist in Tamilanadu. It has got the background of the unity of the United Basel Mission Churches in South Kanara and Coorg Area; the Wesleyan Methodist Churches in Mysore & Hassan areas; and a few Anglican Churches. Amidst the different backgrounds, we are glad to express that unity has been established to an extent. Peaceful Pastorate level elections and elections at the Diocesan Council held hitherto those proved this unity.

After ministry of 5 Bishops since the formation of the Diocese, the Diocese is now under Episcopal leadership of Rt. Rev. Mohan Manoraj, newly elected Bishop. He is the first Bishop representing Mysore-Hassan Areas, the former Wesleyan Methodist Area as all preceding Bishops were from S.K. & Coorg Area, the former Basel Mission Area.

Read More

FC Receipts Newsletter


Cathedral of the Diocese Shanthi Cathedral, Mangaluru
Second Cathedral of the Diocese Wesley Cathedral, Mysuru

Read More


Christian Education

Christian Education is being carried out among the children and teen-agers by organising Sunday Schools, Vacation Bible Schools, Scripture Examinations, Instrumental & Vocal music through the Christian Education Committee of the Diocese.In almost all the Churches, Sunday Schools are functioning for the spiritual nurture of the children. The Work is monitored through a Convener for the Committee, Diocesan Coordinator, Area level Coordinators for 6 Areas of the Diocese.

Youth Fellowship 

Diocesan Youth Assembly(General Body of the Diocesan Youth Fellowship) was constituted in October 1999 for the first time. For establishment of Youth Fellowship at the local church level and the diocesan level in a democratic way, a constitution was adopted.As per the new constitution, arrangements are being made to establish youth fellowships in all the Churches. There are 138 Churches under the Karnataka Southern Diocese established in Udupi, Dakshina Kannada, Kodagu, Mysore, Mandya, Chamarajanagar, Hassan and Chikmaglur districts in Karnataka State; Kasaragod Dist. in Kerala and Talavady Firkha of Periyar Dist. in Tamilnadu.

Women's Fellowship

Later after the union of Churches of various backgrounds and under the umbrella of the Church of South India, women's fellowships were established in an informal way. From the date of establishment of churches, women were joining together for fellowship in their respective churches and social work in the surroundings.But later when the Karnataka Southern Diocese was established in 1970, the Diocesan Women's Fellowship was established. By organising leadership programmes, retreats for women, we could establish Women's Fellowships in more Churches.

Men’s Fellowship 

Since last few years now, Men’s Fellowships are being organised in our Churches. As there are Fellowships for different groups in the Churches, persons between the age group of 25 to 60 have no fellowship groups.Since last few years now, Men’s Fellowships are being organised in our Churches. As there are Fellowships for different groups in the Churches, persons between the age group of 25 to 60 have no fellowship groups. As they are active working people who are considered to be pillars of Church, it was organised for the first time in Shanthi Cathedral, Balmatta, Mangalore Now many of the city churches organised Men’s Fellowship. In addition to spiritual fellowship they join hands in fulfilling the needs for the spiritual and physical development of the Church.

Senior Citizen’s Fellowship

It is also a new venture. Previously there was no such fellowships in the Church. Except one or two Senior Citizens were in the Pastorate, there were no activities for Senior Citizens to be involved. It is now since last 10 years, city Churches started organising Senior Citizen’s Fellowships. Now many of the Churches both in the city and rural areas, Senior Citizen’s Fellowships have been established. Facilitating peaceful living they are organising themselves with spiritual devotions.

Industrial & Rural Mission Work

This is another wing of ministry for the spiritual nurture of Christians who are living in Urban Industrial Areas and Rural Areas. As many people under this ministry are either casual labourers and the poorest of the poor, this area of ministry will cater to the spiritual and social nurture of these people, by arranging divine worship facility and self-employment training facilities. Mudur, Manipal English, Subramanyanagar, Shakthinagar, Vamanjoor, RajivaNagar-Mysore; Javagal, are the congregations organised under this mission which are now grown into Pastorates.

Musical Association

In every congregation there exists Choir group/Bajana Mandali which gives divine atmosphere through instrumental and vocal music. Many of the Christian Musical expert teachers train children and youngsters and involve them in the Church Choir and Music. Balmatta Musical Association with its base at Shanthi Cathedral, Balmatta established since 60 years